Balcony Garden!!!

*Insert granny scream here*

Since I was a little girl I always wanted to play house and do all the household work that comes along with it. One of my biggest dreams was to own my own garden, since I grew up on an acre’s worth of garden and lawns at my parent’s home. It was marvellous. My parents would pluck produce from their vegetable garden every spring and summer and it would be so delicious – I so looked forward to every spring to pick cherries and such.

Now that I have my own little home, I have my freedom to do whatever I wanted! Unfortunately I don’t have the luxury to have an acre’s worth of yard and gardens (we have a balcony), but I am DETERMINED TO MAKE IT WORK! *fist pump

As stated in my previous blog post, over the past weekend we visited our neighbour’s home next door and he literally built a mini jungle in his home – there were plants everywhere and he even installed a vertical indoor garden – which was GENIUS! He is huge into gardening (not sure about Lisa..!), and it was so amazing. You can’t help but to put a smile on your face when you walk in!

We face North East and get a shot of Vitamin D in the morning. It’s glorious. Except sometimes I would like to sleep in a little longer on the weekends, but it’s still glorious. Sometimes I like to stand on my balcony in my PJ’s and sun my office tan a little before getting ready. We have a decent size balcony, nothing too large (we rather have a larger indoor space), perfect enough for a grill, some patio furniture and a vertical shelf garden with maybe enough room to stretch. We still haven’t purchased any outdoor furniture yet so it’s completely bare (although sometimes I enjoy daydreaming about our furniture layout outside).  I dream of growing two rows of vegetables on the bottom, and two rows of flowers on the top. My boyfriend’s favourite flowers is the Pansy and mine is Lavender, so I’d like to grow lots of those.

Do you have a balcony garden? If so, what kind of goodies do you grow? I’d like to get some tips on growing your FIRST EVER GARDEN!! *continues screaming

Leave a comment