Dear Widdle: Please Don’t Grow Too Fast

To my precious four month old kitten:

My wish as a fur mommy is for you to grow up big and healthy
I want you to explore new corners, get your fur dirty and hide underneath furniture
I want you to experience what it’s like to scratch our furniture
And know that it’s not alright

I wish for you to grow strong and confident
Not afraid of your own tail or shadow
But to fight fearlessly and to protect your family from
The evilness of mosquitoes that linger in the dark

Can you remember the first week we brought you home
When you were tiny enough to fit in the palm of our hands?
You could fit in our laps while we crossed our legs and slept
Your little furry head sliding off onto the floor in contentment

It’s been a month since we brought you home and
Your growth rate has passed our expectation
Your obedience has brought a smile to our face
Your curiosity and desire to scratch our feet has brought us warmth

To my precious four month old kitten
I look forward to exploring new corners and watching your fur get dirty
I am excited to look for you underneath furniture and to see that you
Know it’s not alright to scratch furniture (except you definitely scratch our curtains!)

I’m so happy to have you, and I hope you are happy at home too. ❤

Leave a Reply

